2 years…

24 Oct

There are some days in your life where you remember exactly where you were when something big happened. For example, I remember where I was when I heard my Dad had a DVT and was going to hospital, or when my brother David had a DVT, or when Princess Di had died, or when Mother Teresa died, or when planes crashed into the World Trade Centre… Or positive things too… For example, where I was when Dave asked (told??) me to marry him… or when nieces and nephews were born….

Two years ago I remember where I was when I got a call from my brother Peter telling me the Doctors thought he had Motor Neurone Disease… and the follow up call from Dad a couple of days later confirming the news. Two years. A long time but also a short time. Two years since he was told he likely had a life expectancy of 2-5 years, there was nothing anyone could do and he should quit work, spend time with family and tick a few things off his bucket list – while he still could.

I’m still asked “how’s your brother going?” – and, as someone who is not in his skin, I can’t tell you definitively. I do note that he has adapted a few things in life… like how he holds a pen, or a fork… I see muscles twitching in his arms… I see him carry his son Josiah, or his nieces or nephews – for perhaps not quite as long as he wishes he could… I see a little less muscle definition in his arms… BUT other than those things, I see an incredibly strong, fit, smart, amazing individual. Let me expand on that for you…

Peter’s goal has been to live life to the full and in such a way that if you told someone he had been diagnosed with a terminal disease they wouldn’t believe you. In the last two years Peter has

  • Been named South Australian Manager of the Year (Australian Institute of Management)
  • Been named National/Australian Manager of the Year (Australian Institute of Management)
  • Participated in the Goa 7 Pillars cycling challenge in Brisbane, riding 100km and raising more than $12,000 for research into MNDIMG_2424
  • Completed the Santos Tour Down Under community ride (150km) – twice… this year he decided to ride home again as well and clocked up 240km for the day (ouch!!)
  • This year he has cycled 8,641km with what I believe is a goal of 10,000 before the year is out
  • Co-created more life – I’m going to be an Auntie again in December!

All these achievements are, in my opinion, quite impressive, and I’ve got no doubt that there are plenty more that I could add to that list – if only Peter wasn’t quite so humble and told us some of his achievements! They are all a result of Peter continuing to choose life, even when the Doctors had quite the opposite to say.

But I have to say, while these achievements are quite simply amazing, it is other attributes that I see in Peter that lead me to want to honour him today… and to take this even further I want to honour my other brother David today also… both of these gentlemen have had significant health issues that have drastically altered the course they thought their life might take. They have both faced death square in the face. They have both faced the very real fear and possibility that they may not live to see their sons grow up. And, by the grace of God, both are still here to tell the tale. My brothers to me demonstrate the following qualities:david and peter

  • Faith. Being sure of what they hope for and certain of what they cannot see, they continue to believe in a miraculous healing. They, like I, believe in a God who CAN and DOES do the impossible. Who has healed in the past and present and can heal in the future. I look forward to the day that both are delighting in healed freedom.
  • Praise and Worship. Seriously – If you ever get the opportunity to attend a church where one of my brothers is worship leading I invite you to do so. You will see before your very eyes two people who know how to praise and worship God – and they do it freely, without inhibition and despite circumstances that would perhaps suggest they have reason to not praise. Whenever I see it, it blesses me. It ministers to me. It reminds me that we have a God who journeys through life with us and is there in the high and in the low. As Third Day sing (Mountain of God) “and even though the journeys long, and I know the road is hard, Well, the one who’s gone before me, He will help me carry on, and after all that I’ve been through, Now I realise the truth, That I must go through the valley, To stand upon the mountain of God”. It does my heart great good to see my brothers standing singing things like “Higher than the mountains that I face, Stronger than the power of the grave, constant through the trial and the change…. In death and in life I’m confident and covered by the power of your great love”. They acknowledge that life may not be easy, but we need not walk alone, and we have a God who is worthy of our praise.
  • These two guys really have quite a peace about them. Sure not 100% of the time, but generally I see in my brothers two individuals who are confident in where they are at, and confident in where they are going. The song that I feel most sums them up in this regard is “When peace like a river attendeth my way… when sorrows like sea billows roll – whatever my lot, you have taught me to say – it is well, it is well with my soul”.
  • Peter and David will go out of their way to make sure that YOU are okay. They are some of the most caring individuals I know on the planet. Whether it is family, work colleagues or friends, they will do all they can to take care of you – often at their own expense.

While I’m pretty sure that neither would necessarily chose the path they are currently on – both have on multiple times expressed to me that their desire is to use their circumstances and any opportunities they present to focus people’s attention on God.

As the two year anniversary of Peter’s diagnosis comes I want to take this opportunity to remind you… you don’t know what the future holds. Life is precious. One minute it is here, and the next it can be gone. One minute you can be well, and the next you can have a horrible diagnosis. Circumstances in life do not dictate your thoughts and your actions. Wherever possible, I’d encourage you to endeavour to choose life. Every. Single. Day.

If you don’t have a sure knowledge of who holds your future – and you know Peter or David – then I’d suggest you have a chat to them – they would be more than happy to share with you the reason for their peace.

I pray that you, wherever you are reading this, and whatever you are doing, know the love of a God who journeys with you through the highs and the lows of life. He weeps when you weep, he mourns when you mourn. But he also rejoices when you rejoice. He created you to be you – no one else can fill that role. You are important, individual and perfect. You have a purpose, you have meaning, you are amazing.  Go out into your day knowing that you are loved by the God who created the universe and all that is in it… and more importantly He gave up His life so that you could live forever – and he would have done it if you were the only person on the planet.

“God is Able through his Mighty Power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think”. Ephesians 3:20

Leave a comment